Poetry is one of the universal human expressions that articulates the mood of an individual as well as the society. For a long time, Urdu poetry has been dominated by male poets. Only recently, women poets have started to make a name for themselves in Urdu poetry. Through mushairas poets can reach a wider audience and influence the society with their words.

The ASR Resource Centre organized the first national feminist mushaira in 1994 in conjunction with the one of its conferences, ‘A Celebration of Women’. The first national feminist mushaira was followed by three more feminist mushairas organized by the ASR Resource Centre. Pakistani women poets from all over the country came to Lahore to read their poetry in these mushairas.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Women’s Studies Conference: A Celebration of Women, 21 – 25 March 1994

A feminist Mushaira was organized on 23 March 1994 at Alhamrah Art Gallery.

Poetry recitation by women poets: Farhat Parveen, Gulanar Tabassam, Naseem Bano, Shahnaz Muzamil, Dure Anjum Arif, Bushra Ijaz, Attiya Dawood, Sarvat Mohiuddin, Kishwar Naheed, Azra Abbas, Shahida Hasan, Parveen Shakir, Shabnam Shakil, Fehmida Riaz.

Feminist Mushaira organized by ASR Resource Centre in connection with ASR Resource Centre’s Conference “Process to Beijing and beyond”, held at Alhamra Arts Council from 21 – 23 April 1995.

Poetry recitation by women poets: Nasreen Anjum Bhatti, Saba Javed, Shahnaz Anwar, Gulnar Tabassam, Humaira Shams, Hameeda Gul, Perveen Rao, Ghazala Nigar, Shahnaz Muzamil, Qudsia Qudsi, Safia Siddiqi, Anis Haroon, Bushra Ijaz, Attiya Dawood, Dure Anjum Arif, Salma Shaheen, Tanveer Anjum, Sarvat Mohiuddin, Yasmeen Hameed, Nazir Naz, Azra Abbas. 

2nd Transdisciplinary Women’s studies Conference, “A Making of Meaning” 24 – 28 March 2001


Zahra Nigah, Gulnar Tabassam, Salma Sindhu, Neelum Bashir, Shahnaz Muzamil, Nazir Naz, Parveen Atif, Arbia Noor, Anis Haroon, Attiya Dawood, Sarvat Mohiuddin, Azra Abbas, Fatima Hassan, Nasreen Anjum Bhatti, Zahida Hina, Kishwar Naheed

ASR/IWSL Conference: A Celebration of Women….In Struggle Together; 10 – 12 February, 2013


Gulbadan, Rehana, Rukhsana, Gulnar Tabassam, Sughra Sadaf, Hameeda Shaheen, Salma Sindhu, Anis Haroon, Attiya Dawood, Rukhsana Naveed, Sarvat Mohiuddin, Yasmeen Hameed, Nasreen Anjum Bhatti, Azra Abbas, Fatima Hassan, Kishwar Naheed